Lough Derg Sub Aqua Club

Lough Derg Sub Aqua Club is a SCUBA diving and snorkeling club affiliated to  CFT – The Irish Underwater Council which is an affiliate member of CMAS (Confédération Mondiale des Activités Subaquatiques), the international umbrella organisation for recreational diver training organisations.

 Our club was registered with CFT on in 1995.  Most of our members are from Nenagh in Co Tipperary and surrounding areas, and some of our members come from as far as counties Offaly, Limerick, Clare and Galway.  The club has managed to maintain its membership over the years and has every year since its inception managed to take in and train new members in the sport of SCUBA Diving.

During the diving season, which runs from approximately March to November, weather permitting, many of our members can be seen diving in Kilkee, Co Clare, on a Sunday afternoon.  But we dive all over Ireland – up and down the west coast, off Cork and off Hook Head, Co Wexford – and we occasionally organise foreign diving holidays, most recently travelling to Egypt to dive in the Red Sea. We are also regular visitors to Portroe Dive Centre – Ireland’s first inland dive centre, which comprises a flooded slate quarry – a short drive from Nenagh.

During the winter months, we meet every Wednesday from 7-8pm at Nenagh Leisure Centre to keep our fitness levels up.  Come late February or March we head for open water to get the season’s diving underway again.  We also like to take advantage of the beautiful Lough Derg, only five miles from Nenagh, for open water snorkels.

The club is and always has been open to the public.  As per the constitution the objectives of the Club shall be to

  • Encourage the safe practice and development of scuba diving, snorkeling and/or boat handling.

The club shall cater for

  • Scuba Diving

  • Snorkeling

  • Search and Recovery when requested.

Club officers

The club officers for 2020 are – Chairman/PRO: Simon O’Duffy; Secretary/Training Officer: Brian Hoare; Treasurer: Gordon Liston; Dive Officer: Tom Shaw; Search & Recovery Dive Officer: Michael Hogan; Equipment Officer: John Dunne; Snorkelling Officer: Barry Lemasney, Child Protection Officer: Mary Calway.